Sovereign Reality (WIP w/ Demo)

If you’re like me, you just want to play the game and see what it’s all about. So here’s the link, and you can read more about it below:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/pkicoy73kjc1g7i/SovereignCode.html

The demo is live and will change with updates, but please please tell me if there is anything wrong with it, from typos to script errors to not enough choices. I am working on it. For non-technical errors, please read through at least the next post after this one, as I think it might explain some things.

(most of the info below will be in the beginning of the game, but read it if you’d like!)

Summary:

• 50-75 choices
  • 17k+ words, including code, not sure about narrative.
  • 7 chapters so far.

Sovereign Reality: Alphas is my biggest ChoiceScript project so far. I was ambitious in this game from the start because I have some programming experience and also half-wrote a novel (35k so far) in the same universe, albeit several years later.

The gamebook is set in a virtual reality contest, where you play one of 12 pro Alpha-testers competing for a grand prize of $1,000,000. Exactly who you are and what your motivations are is completely up to you. Play the game how “you” would play it; hack-n-slash, role-playing, intrigue, romance, or strategy? All of the options exist when you create your avatar.

This gamebook is meant to be treated like an RPG game. It’s about (essentially) a very realistic simulation video game VR that was developed by the Sovereign Corporation. They may have gone too far.

No, you are not trapped in the video game; you can get out any time you want. But if you do decide to quit, you lose the contest, and won’t be able to go back into the Alpha. You will, however, be able to continue the adventure from outside the game with your ‘real life’ character.