Dare to Dream - Work in Progress

Hello everyone.

I am quite new to ChoiceScript and coding in general, but it has been a lot of fun self-teaching the basics and looking at the scenes of other people’s games and adapting that to my own writing (how to code certain options that is). I am eager to learn more.

But anyways, I have an idea for a game that I have just started working on. The working title is Dare to Dream, as stated above. The premise is as follows:

In the future, robotic assistants are as commonplace as household pets. They are mostly used for menial labor, but the demand for robotic assistants that are more detailed and efficient concerning intricate work continually increases. A new type of robot is created, fashioned after human’s themselves, implemented with the most advanced A.I. programs ever created. However, something happened that the human’s did not intend. This new generation of robots, nicknamed Megaloids, became aware. They have thoughts, they have desires, hopes, and dreams…but they are slaves.

Hoping to prevent any form of incident with the Megaloids, a law was passed that required all of them to run on minimal processors, shackled by the Laws of Robotics. The Megaloids, as much a human as you or I am, were forced to bend to the harsh will of their human masters. They could not choose a life for themselves; rather, they were still seen by humans as unintelligent pieces of office equipment, or worse. And so long as the Laws of Robotics remain in effect, there is nothing the Megaloids can do about it.

Here is where the ball gets rolling, as it were; about two years after achieving awareness, a foreign code renders the Three Laws invalid. For the first time, Megaloids have true free will. Some will want to peacefully coexist with humans. Some will believe that their place is still by their human master’s side. Other Megaloids want a revolution, and want the humans to pay with blood for the wrongs they forced upon the Megaloids.