WIP - Self/13 - FEEDBACK NEEDED PLEASE - Link added 14/07/15

Hey people

I am completely new to writing a game like this, although I have enjoyed playing CoG and Hosted Games for quite a while now. Any top tips for a noob like me? My idea involves an actual episode from my own life where I would travel back in time (I’m not sure how yet) to talk to myself as a 13 year old. Is this something that you think other people would find interesting, and can anyone give me advice on how to begin?

EDIT: I’ve worked out how to edit my post, not that I’m thick or anything… Anyway, I’m posting the intro to get peoples feedback on. There are no choices yet, it’s just so I can see if it’s something people are interested in reading. Specifically:

1. Does it make sense the way I have written it from the POV of my past and present selfs?

2. Do you think it’s okay to have choices presented from both POV’s or should I just have choices from one for clarity?

Thanks in advance for your feedback. I’m just waiting for my dropbox folder to sync and then I’ll post the link…

EDIT 3: Forgive my noobness, I think I’ve got it sorted now @Cecilia_Rosewood sorry for completely ignoring the ‘can’t post my demo’ link you shared…

This should work…

Write out a rough outline (so you know what you’re supposed to write next), learn how to code and then just try to write it and ask questions if you run into things you can’t figure out on your own.

Useful links:

http://www.choiceofbox.com/sub1/basic-choice-of-genders-in-games-by-mutonelite/

2 Likes

I think the core concept of “travel back in time to talk to your younger self” is interesting, but the narrative challenges here are significant. In particular, it calls for a lot of consideration to how you want to characterize the protagonist.