[WIP] Red Herring (Working Title) (2/19: Chapter 3 Updated)

Right. Time for the leap of faith.

I’ve begun work on my new game Red Herring (Working Title. I will probably change that later). In it, you play an ordinary human in a world filled with superheroes and villains.

Currently it’s about (3/10 chapters, 20k words) done. It is a relatively short IF, because it is my first project and I don’t want to overwork myself. I am lazy, I know.

Summary

The first case of a super-powered human emerged in the least reputable district in the Nova City about thirty years ago. Predictably the place turned into a lawless hellhole after so many god-like beings running around wrecking havoc, so it was cordoned off shortly after your birth. Not that you care. After all, you are just an absolutely ordinary human being that prefers not to involve yourself in those violent conflicts between self-proclaimed heroes and villains. You thought being an unassuming employee of the largest company in the city centre pretty much guaranteed a life secure from super-humans, but after a surprise visit from the most notorious villain, Dr.Abyssus, who claimed that you are someone that their greatest rival cares about, you realise that how wrong you were.

First, you know no one in your life could have been that hero (or is it?). Second, and by which you mean the most important point, your rented apartment is destroyed in the process. Just how are you going to pay for the damage? Then to your absolute horror, the hero in question, Whirlwind, actually shows up and confirms the words of Dr.Abyssus, and you know in an instant that kidnappings and the destruction of your personal belongings will become a weekly occurrence.

Although you are just a normal human, it does not mean that you are absolutely powerless in such a situation. There must be something you can do to save your life!

In this game, you can:

• Unmask the hero and get them to stop the villain once and for all.