Is Alter Ego a Choice of Games game?

Um, well I don’t believe that another company can use choicescript, make a game and sell it can they? Because a cpmpany named Choice Multiple LLC. created a game called alter ego in choisescript (it’s on android).

They can if they paid to use it. I doubt they did though.

The website says this:

This game was originally written by Peter Favaro, Ph.D. It was
published in 1986 for the Commodore 64, MS-DOS, Apple II, and Macintosh.
The Alter Ego browser game is a production of Choose Multiple LLC

So maybe this predates ChoiceScript.

The online version looks more like Twine to me, but I am no expert.

2 Likes

http://www.playalterego.com/

It also looks like it’s free (or by donation). I thought it was okay to use ChoiceScript as long as you aren’t selling your games.

Alter Ego was transferred into CS by Dan Fabulich (the owner of CoG) a while ago. It’s actually what got him to start this company, if I recall correctly.

6 Likes

Fear not! Choice Multiple LLC is the precursor to Choice of Games. While they didn’t create Alter Ego (it’s a really old game), I know that Dan Fabulich did work on porting it first to the web, and then to the android. (I didn’t realise the android version was in choicescript.)

I’d bet that the wish list on the site is partially responsible for the creation of Choice of Games. http://www.playalterego.com/wishlist.html

6 Likes

Thank you, but I’m a bit depressed because I paid $5 for it on the play store😭.
Although it was a great game and I encourage anybody to check it out.
P.S I thought it was weird it was so much like CoG.

Don’t be depressed. At least the money didn’t go to supporting people who’d ripped off choice of games. I’m actually surprised that there’s no cross-linking between Alter Ego and Choice of Games. I’m wondering if the reason for that.