Tips for plotting and development? Asking as a newbie

Hi all, I’m new to writing CoG script, but fell in love with IF last year. Since I’ve only been in the CoG/Hosted Games community for a year, I wonder if anyone has some general advice for the following potholes:

1. Plotting-- okay, this is different from the advice one may get when writing linear fiction. IF plotting is a whole lot of branches, customizations options, and all that. How long does it take authors to usually feel like they have a solid plot in line and characters?

2. Beta readers-- are they a thing? I’d love to have a beta reader to help me go through everything and make sure it looks good before releasing new material to the public.

3. Burnout-- how do authors typically cope with burnout or feeling discouraged?

4. Is it common to have a few WIP going at once? I don’t want to write something that no one takes any interest in, but I also don’t want to spread myself thin, especially given that I have a job and everything outside of IF.

I am really passionate about IF! That being said, it gets a little disorienting at times.

7 Likes

Plotting isn’t that hard; you need to set a goal and work/write towards it gradually; the biggest issue is checking for inconsistencies; you can’t have parts of your story contradicting other parts.

1 Like

Plotting is the hardest part, mostly because if I give a definition that differentiates it from “story”, it will instantly derail everything into a heated discussion on plot vs. story that nobody agrees with even though everyone is confident that they’ve got the best way of defining them.

Anyway –

Beta Readers: yes

Burnout: don’t lie to yourself about what you enjoy about the writing process

Multiple WIPs ongoing: extremely common.

6 Likes

Oof, I don’t know how much help I can be since I just joined this year as an active member, but I’ll try!