Help with Keeping Track of all the Branching Paths in a Story

Hello everyone!

I’ve been on CoG for awhile now, and wanted to try my hand at writing a story. I’m currently planning out the general plot, but I’m a little stumped on how I will keep track of where every choice will lead the main character. How do any of you write out all the paths and different choices without getting confused? Is there an engine you can use? Do you use Google docs? Any ideas would surely help me! Thanks in advance!

4 Likes

You can use Twine to plan your stories. I don’t know how exactly, but I hear it’s a good way to do it.
I’m not really good with tech things, so I jot down all my tags and variables on a sketchpad.
That may be impractical for most, but it does the job for me.

2 Likes

Excellent question!

I struggled with this myself, and I still occasionally do. What I’ve found to work for me is the old fashioned way of journaling. Just excessive journaling and a secondhand white board, Pepe Silvia meme style.

There are other ways too, like keeping word documents on general branching plots and skill checks with a dedicated word for a quick Ctrl+f search, but what I’ve found most valuable while scouring for a good tracking method is this reddit thread. There aren’t many replies (and it might be a bit dated), but they have mentioned great ways to stay on track, like Twine that was mentioned earlier!

Hope you find the most suitable choice for you :grin:

10 Likes

I use flowcharts for branches, and spreadsheets for variables, but that obviously isn’t for everyone. I also keep files with random notes, that I tend to lose and find them again years later :sweat_smile:

7 Likes

Some people use a program of some sort to visualize their workflow and this thread could help you find one you’ll like.

6 Likes

Thank you for your kind suggestions so far! You have given me a lot of ideas and sites I can look into and try. I appreciate it! :blush:

3 Likes