Salt City Private Eye

Hey all, I’m new to this forum so go easy on me. I’m writing a game called Salt City Private Eye. You play an unconventional character with a problematic family who inherits their famous father’s private detection agency. There are cases to solve, but there’s a twist to your character’s situation that makes it difficult for them to make money from clients.

I’ll let you play it and find out what that is. I’m keen for any feedback you feel inclined to offer as this is my first time using choicescript and I’m sure to make some rookie mistakes. You can play as a guy/girl/or neither and I’ve sorted through probably around half the achievements.

Currently it’s about 20K words, or 3.5 chapters in. It’ll probably be a 100k+ word game when finished.

I’ve put the first chapters up here: https://dashingdon.com/play/clarge/salt-city-private-eye/mygame/index.php?cb=61356

Thanks, and talk soon…

Edit: as a couple of people have pointed out, this game contains a fair bit of drinking and smoking on the part of various characters, including the MC if they choose. Proceed with caution. It’s not a game for children.

Edit 2: I live in Australia so replies may be a little delayed since I’m asleep while you’re up and about.

110 Likes
Grammar and Other

“Larry was loser,”
*was a loser

Stick shift," says your bother, running a finger along a finely-polished door handle. “Twin turbine, V12 monster.”

*says your brother

“I have located a matress in the Salt City Private Eye offices I think your father must have used several times,” says Ludlow.

*mattress

Edit: accidentally hit the reply button too early. The story is quite intriguing and the characterization of the MC is a far cry from the blank slate that you see in most games. My only concern is that you may want to include a more comprehensive warning other than a tag in the adult-fiction category.

I’m looking forward to the next update :smiley:

2 Likes

My MC chose the mango pizza and milk combo. :rofl: