Reverse Alien Invasion

Hi COG Forums,
So This past few days I finally sat down and cranked out around a chapter on an Idea that has been bouncing around in my head for some time now. I still don’t have a decent title for it, but I am working on it. The basic concept is that Earth has been destroyed and now humanity’s last population is adrift on a colony ship looking for a new home. I won’t go into too much detail here as most of the demo is dedicated to setting the scene and backstory.

Here’s the demo: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/207824442/Alien_SciFi_Game_Thing/web/mygame/index.html

This is my first time trying this so if it doesn’t work let me know.

I would like some feedback on my writing style and the current back story.

Thanks,
Michael

1 Like

It bugged shortly after I got to the pit and the folks said hi, something about a missing #. I’m not sure if you intended for that to happen or not.

Anyway, it’s a decent first stab marred by various spelling errors (‘man’ where ‘many’ or ‘hop’ where ‘hope’ should be, for example) and some other weirdness like no planet names being properly capitalized. Some story stuff is also a bit weird, I think-- it was a bit jarring to put down ‘Norway’ as the country and then read about how it had usurped control of the project through sheer military might. I can’t really elaborate now due to being on a phone, but if I remember I’ll get back to this.

Found an error. Line 70: Expected option with #.

A quick test and I agree with @Golgot about entering a country that took control. Perhaps in this case some major countries around the world would work better?

I also ran into that error that stopped the game, as also mentioned by @Miki.

Overall I like the idea of being the “space invader” for once, but I would have to get back to you on any more serious feedback, today is not the best day (not well).

1. “immediatley” should be “immediately”
  2. “oreinted” should be “oriented”