Possible colonization warfare game

I have returned after a very long slumber, my old project will probably never be resumed, but I have an idea I though of earlier. I have some experience coding, I need to relearn most of it, and I am a pretty good writer.

Basically my idea takes place in the future. Not too far, still mostly conventional weapons. The US government prison system is overcrowded, but the death penalty has been abolished. A new plan is created to wipe the memory of the worst criminals and send them to an unexplored Earth-like planet very far away. They are just dumped there with no knowledge of their previous lives, just that they now live here and must survive. You will play as a man with natural leadership and one of the first exiles. You will lead a band of men to survive, and it will grow until you become a nation. You have only what you can make or discover. Other parts of the planet have more exiles who will also make factions. This, coupled with the natural violence of exiles, leads to a tribal, warlike culture. Peace can be possible, but you must work on taming the innate violence in your nation. Weaponry can be introduced by invention or ambushing the dropships of fresh exiles and taking earth weaponry.

Thats all I have for now, let me know any idea or improvements you have. Criticism welcome friends.

I love the idea! Can’t wait to see what you come up with. One suggestion I would have would be what if at some point some of the colonist started to remember bits and pieces of their previous life’s, including the players character? After all, you said it wasn’t that far in the future, so I’d imagine that this memory wiping technology would be still pretty new and not necessarily big free. And how would people react to having memories of past violence? Would it torment them? Would they revert to their old ways? Just some thoughts.