Julia Caesar And The Great Fire of Rome

As a huge thank you to LordIrishDas, and because he did such an amazing job of running the contest, I’m going to post the link to Julia Caesar and The Great Fire of Rome, while I work on the article I promised him. I’ll likely yank down the files by the end of the week.

This is my first attempt at making a game. I wrote it in 12 days panicking constantly about the deadline looming and I was writing it right up until midnight. I didn’t get a chance to beta it thoroughly, but the two beta-testers I did have were absolutely amazing. The game’s really unpolished just now which is one of the reasons I’m so tentative about posting the link. I know the stats don’t really work properly, I didn’t have time to balance them or implement them how I wanted.

I’m currently working on a completely different project. I do plan to go back to Julia Caesar once I’ve finished the other project, but it will likely be several months at least. I don’t plan to open up the Julia Caesar files and fix or change anything until my other project is done. I know there’s plenty that needs fixed, and polished, and the second episode to write, but I get distracted really easily. I need to stay focussed on my current project. If you want to offer things you think need fixed you’d be better emailing it to me (the email addy’s on the game) than posting it here since it’ll be easier for me to keep track of there.

Anyway I give you Julia Caesar and the Great Fire of Rome! The result of 12 days of craziness and an awful lot of caffeine.

http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/154988802/Julia/web/mygame/index.html

I. Could. Not. Stop.
Laughing!
This is awesome! I love how we have to babysit Nero (one of the worlds biggest trolls) in the first chapter. Not to mention that the comedic writing style is ON POINT.