Choice of Games vs Hosted Games

So, I’m probably getting a bit ahead of myself, but I was curious. For all the writers on the site, what are the pros and cons of using the “Choice of Games” and “Hosted Games” labels? Do Choice of Games generally produce better games than Hosted Games? How much money do people generally make with each? How much creative freedom do you have with each? How difficult is it to get considered for a Choice of Games label? Generally, which do people prefer?
Also, for Choice of Games writers, do you prefer to write under the 25% Royalties outline or the Work for Hire outline? What are the major pros and cons of each and how much money do people generally make all together using the 25% Royalties outline compared to the Work for Hire outline?
(I have read the “Looking for Writers” page, so I do know the basics, I’d just like people’s personal opinions of which they prefer to use and why.)

1 Like

I’m a HG author, and I think it’s a mixed bag. On one side, you have more creative freedom. On the other side, the official gamebooks get priced higher, advertised more, and they get company sponsored copyediting. Plus, HGs aren’t prioritized publishing wise

As for work for hire vs royalties, I’d choose royalties if and when I get into the official label. It’s continous and you get payed more the more successful your title is. For example, Heroes Rise gets over 10K a year each, whereas if Zachary had chosen work for hire, he would have only made 20K period, instead of like 21K in the first year of having each title published.

As for quality, I’d say the majority of the CoGs are average, whereas the majority of the HGs are either amazing or meh.

5 Likes