An Idea and a word of thanks!

Hey guys!
I’m fairly new to COG, what I would love to see is an estimated gameplay time near each game. I understand that the time would be influenced by choices made, how quickly you read etc… But an estimate would be very much appreciated!
On a secondary note, I would just like to say thankyou to the writer of Zombie Exodus: Jim Dattilo. Zombie Exodus is honestly one of the coolest games i’ve played, ever… But I never knew how long he spent writing! Almost a year before Part V is released! All this effort, and he releases the game for cheaper than a hamburger! I tip my hat to you good sir!

First off, glad you like Zombie Exodus. I appreciate your kind words. Part V will probably be around 8 months of development for around 200,000 lines of code (50k words per storyline).

Most CoG and Hosted Games are around 2-3 hours of reading. Some go longer, but most shoot for the 2-3 hour range.

The writer himself! Goodness haha! Well, since I’m in this privileged position I’m gonna ask you something :slight_smile:
In Z.E would it at all be possible to have randomised events? I understand this would increase your workload by a tonne, but maybe it could be released as a part VI or something?

What I mean by randomised events, is something like this:
The player is leading the group of survivors and can choose how to spend the weeks
Gathering supplies, food, training etc…
But focusing more-so on the group rather than the PC, like in current Z.E parts
Instead of stats for a single character, you now have stats for the group
-Food Supplies
-Water Supplies
-Meds
-Weapon training etc, etc

But instead of being repeated every week, get food or get water when resources are low, add in a feature that creates ‘disaster’ events… This way when you have plenty of food to last you for a while, you get raided, or the plants get a disease or someone forgets to close the store-cupboard and the food goes rotten etc…