The Unusual Tales of Robin Hood (upcoming game)

I tried to look up some of the upcoming games to determine which would be interesting for me and I’ve found something worrying about this game. So if I get it right we can play as either Robin Hood (Robert) or Marian. Playing as Marian sounds interesting since we get to see another perspective from what we already know. Well that’s not the issue. The issue is that in the old wip I’ve found I started playing as Marian and there was a question about her sexuality, I’ve choosed lesbian (obviosly). Thought it would be dealt in the way it was done in Guenevre where MC marries Arthur bc of obvious plot reasons but she doesn’t feels attracted to him if I choose that. But in this game even tho I choosed Marian to be interested in women she felt in love with Robert as soon they meet. That made me feel really uncomfortable and made me glad that the wip ended a few pages after that. Sorry, but imo even sexuality locking Marian would be better than: You choose to like girls? Too bad bc here is this boy and you have a crush on him.
Idk if this has been changed since that presumably old thing I found so it might be irrelevant now, but I feelt like I have to say something about this before the game would get released.

10 Likes

Obviously, Robert is secretly a woman, and Marian somehow picked up on that on an unconscious level.

Ok, but seriously, it does seem like quite a blunder (wonder if a gay Robin would have the same problem?)

3 Likes

Didn’t know that there was a Robin Hood game in development! I know Jean was talking about writing one at some point when she wanted a break from Guen where you could choose the gender of all the characters (so my dream of Robin having an all female Merry Ladies team could be realised, heh) but I am sure that this will be different.

This was a contest entry; I believe the writer is not a common visitor to the forums. I remember she had quite a devil of a time submitting it.

2 Likes