Preferred scene length for all devices

Hey folks,
I am working on a game and some scene SEGMENTS (not scenes, sorry for the mistake earlier) are a bit lengthy; (20-25 lines until the page break) in the browser (storyline demands it). Is there any problem with lengthy scene segments? (maybe while viewing in android devices?)
I am just getting started and wish to know if my current scene segment length is large. Hate to trim after story completion.

1 Like

I think long paragraphs can be more troubling than long pages, but it’s partly preference. Would page breaks be a problem if you have more than, say, five to ten paragraphs? Especially longer paragraphs?

What I’ve done personally, before I had access to a smaller device to test it out, was to test my game in a small window I’d resized on my laptop to be about the size of a phone screen. It helped me to have some idea of how much scrolling I’d be forcing my readers to do.

4 Likes

With my story I didn’t really focus on page breaks during the first draft of the demo, then when people made comments that it could use more I just added them where it seemed right. I don’t think there is a max length of a story, I mean Guenevere is going to be ginormous by the time that’s complete.

3 Likes

As for scenes themselves, they can go on indefinitely, as far as I know. Personally I try to keep mine around 1000-2000 lines, just so when I add things later the scene length doesn’t get ridiculous and I don’t tie myself into knots. (I convinced myself it was a bad idea when I ended up with a 11,000 line scene, which was a bit much for me.)

I’m not sure what a typical number of lines per scene is, though, for other ChoiceScript-writing folk.

3 Likes

I guess my 21,000 line scene is a bit much…

4 Likes

It’s s a GIANT WALL OF TEXT IN MY MOBILE IS WOW LIKE CHINA WALL… But in your game is ok @Havenstone

1 Like