"Permission Denied" when I make a new scene

I’m new at this, and yesterday I tried to make a new scene for the first time. I made a text file, added it to scene_list in the startup file, and found that it gave me a “Permission Denied” error every time I tried to follow that path. The only scenes it could go to were the sample ones included with the ChoiceScript download. (I can change and rename those scenes, and it will still work. However, if I bring up their properties and choose to “unblock” them, they’ll stop working as well.)

I dug through previous questions on the forum until I found people talking about editing the scene list in mygame.js. Do you need to do that to create new scenes, even though the tutorial doesn’t mention it? I went to the wiki and looked up mygame.js, and opened it in Notepad so I could edit it, but it didn’t look the way the wiki said it would. What should I do?

Did u add create scene at your startup file?? That might help

I have *scene_list in my startup file. Is that what you mean, or is there something else?

@SamLienhard This has happened to me quite a while ago and I don’t remember the cause exactly, but I think it was because I messed up the file extraction.

Download choicescript again. Don’t close the extraction software until the extraction is 100% done. See if that helps.

EDIT: *scene_list is enough.

You may have opened the game with the wrong index file? Use the one inside mygame.

@DSeg I downloaded it again and kept it open until the extraction was complete, but the problem remains.

@MutonElite That’s the one I’m using.

Okay, let’s try tagging a few experts then. @CJW @dfabulich @jasonstevanhill

From what I’ve found, If the scene you created isn’t within the scenes folder in mygame, then it gives a similar error. Other than that I’m not quite sure where it would come from.