Need help coding a main stat when using opposed pairs

Hi there! I’m pretty new to coding Choicescript, and everything is going pretty swimmingly, but I’m a bit stumped on how to code a main stat when using opposed pairs. I’ve seen some very helpful posts about how to code a main stat, but most of the examples I have seen only work when using completely separate stats.

I’m using opposed pairs because I like the way they look and function in the game, but, because the opposed stat in a pair does not technically exist, I’m not sure how to factor that in to determining a main stat.

One forum post I read suggested making the opposed stat a hidden stat that is calculated alongside the real stat in the opposed pair. The problem with that is, if using fairmath, the hidden stat % and the opposed pair % will not always match up unless by some miracle the two numbers end up being the same. Unless there is something that I am overthinking or not understanding about that solution.

Now, I could, in theory, make two routines, one to determine the lowest stat and one to determine the highest stat. The challenge then comes with comparing the two results. If I go this route, how would I determine if the lowest stat is closer to 0 than the highest stat is to 100?

How have other people coded a main stat when using opposed pairs for their stats? It would be very helpful to see example coding of what has worked for others in this situation. Thanks in advance for the advice.

Like you said, opposed pairs are actually and in fact just one variable. The threshold (or neutral ground) is always 50. If the variable value is below 50, then then the “right” stat is greater than the “left” stat. Likewise, when it’s above 50, the left stat is greater than the right stat.

You can use this reference for checks in your game. Take for example the opposed pair shy-bold. If it’s above 50, then the character is more shy than bold, but if it’s below 50, then the character is more bold than shy.