Necessity of an overarching plot?

Hello, i played some of the games from CoG and i always found the concept very interesting, eventually i was thinking of trying to make one story myself. I have never written any sort of story before, but i have some ideas to try something out.

Anyway, i had this story in mind involving some sort of mercenary or hired killer that can have missions in different locations all over the world. However, i am struggling in creating some sort of overarching plot connecting at least some of these together since when you are hired to do something, you are expected to finish things there, and move on to your next assignment.

I was planning that each job you are hired for would be like a small story that would be finished on itself, making the story be more like several unrelated stories joined together.

Due to different factions, characters and locations in these, i would like to ask if in this type of story such a story arc would be necessary? Would the game feel too simple and unconnected without one?

3 Likes

you can always make it only about the MC that why is he doing the killings, making it all a thriller that how every mission while being different than each other was ultimately related to us and how we are going to end this all

if the player feels satisfied with the end - you can do whatever you want.

You can even start with rainbow colored dragons saving princesses.

1 Like

An overarching plot can help tie it all together. It can even be simple but still functional.

For example lets take your Merc/Assassin.