Story Structure: How do you do it?

Hello everyone! Its your favourite letter B here.

This here is mainly addressed to authors but everyone else is free to chip in of course!

I have been writing on and off for a few years. Never truly being satisfied with my work due to myself wishing for it to be as perfect as possible. Which is well… impossible.

But one main issue I’ve always encountered is how exactly to make the whole story. The arc, the plot points. Do I write a basic summary of the story and connect the dots in between? Changing it as I go? Do I just start with a general idea of an end and start my journey to it? I honestly never really understood how to properly start here and because of that I’ve always had issues actually pushing the story forward.

World building I can do. I can do an insane amount of it. I mean I have 50+ pages of world building for a couple of worlds each that I will never use. I just love doing it. But the story I have issues with.

I even have an idea for what I have yet to see done here on CoG or HG, which might be a bit complex for a first actual title but would offer a unique way to tell the whole thing.

I know that @Cataphrak (I hope you don’t mind me pinging you! Apologies if it is inconvenient and feel free to ignore the post. It’s all good.) seems to have some sort of structure planned for the whole Dragoon Saga of Sabres, Guns, Lords, Wars and Masters of Infinity. Which I find as quite the amazing feat. Not only managing to plan something out for a single title but multiple installments.

So here I am, confused Ruski wondering how you guys do it.

Thank you all for taking your time to read!

5 Likes

If worldbuilding is writing without narrative, writing a story is… writing with a narrative.

In IF, a story usually tells a snippet or whole life of a character, mostly the protagonist.

Is your protag been through a hurdle or obstacle in their life that you want to tell the reader?