How do you plan your stories?

Just what the title says. I’ve looked around the forum a bit and have read the blog posts about this, but I’m curious about how the writers of CoG go about it themselves. Everyone has slightly different approaches to all aspects of writing and the planning process is one of the most important parts of writing. If you don’t start with a good structure, you probably aren’t going to end up with anything worth reading.

9 Likes

I’m a first time writer for CoG, but their required outline process has helped enormously. They require you to describe your characters, your chapters and what happens in them, and your skills, and to describe sample choices in each chapter, as well as what kind of main ending options the player will have.

I find this has helped enormously in pacing myself and in boosting my creativity. My writing still evolves quite a bit, so when I get to a new chapter the old ‘sample choice’ is usually not really appropriate any more, but it still gives me a starting point.

Inside each chapter, I try to think of how I can test whatever I’m focusing on testing in that chapter, as well as what’s going to happen in my relationships with friends and enemies.

With all these constraints in place at once, I find it easier to fill in around them, instead of trying to invent a story out of nothing all at once.

27 Likes

Planning! Man, I knew I forgot to do something. Oh well, too late now.

21 Likes

I’m not actually a published author yet, so take this for whatever you think it’s worth.

When I have the idea for a story I sit down and just spitball ideas to myself, scribbling down plot points and worldbuidling facts in an almost stream of consciousness fashion. Usually I’ll get anywhere from six to ten pages of the stuff before a coherent story starts to take shape.