Mass Effect Game

I’ve been writing for about two years now, and recently found the ChoiceScript software. I’ve always been a huge fan of the Mass Effect series, so it was an easy choice to write a story in that universe, especially seeing it’s focus on player choice.

I’ve written two chapters that I submitted to the Mass Effect subreddit. Commenters there recommended that I post them here as well. The two chapters have been viewed over 2000 times over on reddit, and have a 97% positive upvote ratio.

While I have some experience writing, this is my first time working with ChoiceScript. As such, it’s probably going to have some (hopefully minimal) errors.

Chapter 1: https://dashingdon.com/go/2270

Chapter 2: https://dashingdon.com/go/2283

I look forward to hearing what you think!

51 Likes

If you do copywrited work even for free it’s not going to go well here.

Hey I am really going to play this because I love Mass Effect! (boo to killing the franchise) But just wanted to warn you that I tried to make a Mass Effect game a couple years back but the mods told me that using existing IP is against the rules even if you never plan to charge any money. Not sure if things have changed, but you may want to look into it before you get your hopes up :cry:

Welcome to the forum community @Worchester.

I haven’t yet read your chapters but one thing most CS games share in common is a continuity with chapters being tied together into a whole. In choicescript chapters are referred to as scenes and you can have the game continue automatically from one to the next by making a Scenes file that the code will use as a guide.

Another thing is about the IP of Mass Effect. This property is jealously guarded and as such, CoG (@RETowers) might be gunshy about having it as a Hosted game. So might @dashingdon having it on his site. I did summon them, so they should be able to give their input soon.