I need help! Problems with coding for the stat screen

I’m studying about codes right now.

But *break_line made me mad!
When I opened the stat in the game, so it didn’t work!
For example:

*stat_chart
  text Name
  *line_break
  percent blah blah

What will I do?

Is it ok to ask about the codes in this post if I have more problems?

For starters I think your indenting isn’t right. There shouldn’t be any indents.

secondly I"m not sure why you’re setting it out like that. Shouldn’t it be more like

*label stats
[b]Name:[/b] $!{name} 

*line_break

It always helps if you post the exact error you’re getting :slight_smile:
(By the way I’ve edited the post so people know what you’re asking about and you can get help.)

Edit: Actually misread it. Ok do look at the spacing because I don’t think you should continue to use spaces after text name, but if that doesn’t work the problem might be in the set up of the stat_chart. To me it looks like you’re missing a value.

for example

*stat_chart
	text health_text [b]Health[/b]	

You then need to define the health_text in further coding. Do you have that? An error code would be helpful here.

Let’s see what’s wrong in your code :eyeglasses:

Umm… In *stat_chart, you don’t need a *line_break command
Other than that, looks fine. But explaining what’s wrong will surely help

I thought *stat_chart requires following lines to be indented (nested) :confused:
My choicescript_stats have indents on it

Yes it does (If you check the example I put up), but anything after that (like line_break) shouldn’t have the indent. I think you can use line_break between stat_chart commands if you want to spread them out but then would probably need to use the stat_chart command again before the next one.

Quickest option is to use the testers built into the program to see which line the problem is on.

1 Like

No, it doesn’t work, and it says choicescript_stats line 7: invalid line; this line should start with ‘percent’, ‘text’, or ‘opposed_pair’