I need help in coding

Sorry to bother everyone I’m new to coding and all these but I love Choice of Games so much that I want to create one of my own I’m starting to get the hang of the basic coding but I still don’t know how to add a last name. I copied some of the codes from the given Choice of a Dragon and tweaked it so that it would help me a bit and I still don’t know how to separate the Basic stats and the Relationships. I’m already staring on my work but only just a bit of it.

Hi, I just moved it into the “Choicescript help” category :wink:

Have a good day, and I hope you will find help (I’m sure you will :smiley: ).

2 Likes

What’ve you got so far?

Have you looked at

1 Like

@FairyGodfeather Not yet but thanks I need all the help I can get

1 Like

I also did a tutorial specifically on names. (Not sure if the others include that.) There’s a few tweaks I’d ideally make to it nowadays but I’m thinking there’s likely someone done a better one around.

3 Likes

Can you pinpoint the part where you went wrong?

Oh I didn’t go wrong anywhere. I’d have just added a few fancy other options in. Like automatically capitalising the first letter of a name. And maybe adding in an option for gender-neutral characters. But the basics are there.

There was nothing wrong with your tutorial it was amazing and it helped me so much but whenever I run Quicktest on firefox this pops up “Error: startup line 189: It is illegal to fall out of a *choice statement; you must *goto or *finish before the end of the indented block.”

Those are tricky. Try using *fake_choice instead. I use it almost exclusively for that reason.

Background: If you use *choice you have to *finish or *goto at the end do every #decision.

1 Like

Can you paste a sample of your code around line 189?

As it says, you need to have a *goto or a *finish after every single section in a choice block, unless you use fake_choice. I use fake_choice a lot to avoid that, but it’s bad practice.

1 Like