How to make the Phone / Table App?

So I’m still new to figuring this all out, but how are you supposed to save your CoG files as an app for phones/ tablets? (Android, iPhone, iPad, etc.)? I’m getting close to wanting to get feedback on my game and want it accessible in multiple formats, but app stuff isn’t really something I know anything about. Thanks!

@Lglasser

To have a demo you just need to use dropbox. Thats what a lot of people here use when they are beta testing their games.

@Lglasser To expand on that a little, the process for turning a ChoiceScript game into an app is not an easy one, but it is easy to stick it on the web for a playtest (which can of course also be played by just about anyone with a smartphone or tablet).

However, when the game development is complete and tested, Choice of Games will then ‘publish’ it on your behalf as a ‘Hosted Game’ in various formats, including iOS, Android, etc. More about that here:

1 Like

So the only way the game can be made available as an app is if Choice of Games converts it as a hosted game for you? I am planning on releasing this completely free (from specific dowloadable locations only) for the Interactive Fiction competition. I work in the gaming industry and it’s thorny to get permission to do outside projects, Thornier still when other companies come into the picture.

I’ve looked into this a little in the past, since if I ever actually get a ChoiceScript game done I’d want to distribute it for free. It doesn’t seem like the ChoiceScript license would prohibit you from using the source in a non-commercial app, but you’d have to do all the work of converting/packaging it as an app yourself. (Or pay someone to do it for you.)