Hosted Games leading into CoG?

Hello all,

I wasn’t really sure of which topic to post this question under. Hopefully, I’ve guessed correctly, but you have my apologies if not!

I am an experienced writer who also happens to have developed online games (which are all text, by coincidence, so effectively ongoing novels not unlike interactive fiction). However, due to my disability, it isn’t until now that I’ve pursued the idea of being published on a professional label. Just free games made for people to enjoy.

I’ve read through the Hosted Games requirements, and those are easily achieved by anyone looking to enter the professional arena. The CoG label games are a bit more strict, though, and I’m unclear regarding the prior published works requirement. Let’s say I write a really successful Hosted Games publication, or several successful Hosted works. Would this satisfy that point for purposes of “graduating up” to writing a CoG title?

In my opinion, I’m offering something relatively fresh and fun through my gamebooks, which blend interesting narrative with a lot of random elements and rules D&D fans are going to enjoy. It’s my hope that I find success as a Hosted Game, and in turn, that I can transform this success into writing CoG titles. Truly accomplish that goal of overcoming my disability, in other words, by climbing as high as I can go!

Disability has not offered me the chance to author a thesis or any prior publications. I’m hoping that success as a Hosted author can serve as qualification to pursue a CoG path, as my coder and I have worked really hard to produce a great addition to the Hosted Games lineup. Hopefully, the gamebook engine we’ve designed through ChoiceScript will lead to even more interesting titles and eventually, the above mentioned goal.

Thanks!

9 Likes

The quick answer is yes. I just need a moment to go dig around for where it’s stated. :slight_smile:

6 Likes

That’s not quite an accurate statement.