Hiring Coder for Gamebook Systems

Hello all!

My very first post on the Choice of Games forums, and I’m out and about bothering people for help! I’d like to summarize by saying that I am a physically disabled guy who has had a lifetime involvement in role-playing games. I’ve played D&D and other table top settings, I’ve played and even created/operated MUDs, played and staffed on early MMOs, etcetera. Full time nerd. The limitations of my disability these days have left me somewhat without purpose, and that’s something I’d like to change. Having been playing gamebooks and reading interactive fiction recently, I thought that becoming published in this arena myself might be an ideal use of my prior experience.

The problem? I’m just a writer. Even when I created my own MUDs, I hired coders to handle that aspect of things for me, to give me code with easy templates to work with in the future.

My first Hosted Project idea is for a fairly short debut piece to introduce myself to the community, with aims to eventually be published at the higher tier, but I just can’t create what is essentially a gamebook without at least having stats, skills, currency, and inventory whose presence can steer the course of events. Dice rolls or some form of resolution system which takes the characters stats and skills into account, as well. Party members would be a welcome addition. Story outcomes will vary according to the results, and if we’re using any kind of health/HP system, perhaps even death! I love complexity and stat crunching, but the above factors would enable me to write the gamebooks I’d like to write.