Drawings and Arts

I’m quite new to this. Is there something that i need to know about creating drawings and cover arts? (The resolutions or something else) I only just created 2 covers and 1 drawings, and i feel quite alien to digital drawing since i spent my time drawing on paper and not glass. Any tips for a newbie?

I use an app on android called IbisPaintX. The app created jagged lines if i look closer, should i use other apps? And why are they better?

Feel free to share your arts too. We’re the patrons of art after all, hahaha

Art

Thanks for reading,
-Dzeeck

5 Likes

Well. I don’t know about digital drawing but my brother does. What he does is that they transfer his drawings on paper to digital drawing by means of an image scan and with the scanned drawing he recreates it digitally and shapes it to upload it to a digital drawing file. He has done so to create space race tribute art in his 50s and he still did it for the SpaceX space race

4 Likes

Hi Dzeeck,

I personally don’t know or use Ibis, but I’d recommend looking in the app or googling for a ‘line stability’ option or something similar that will help stabilize and smoothen your lines.

Best of luck!

3 Likes

My advice all comes from working in Photoshop on Wacom tablets so I’m not sure how well they’ll apply to you but–!

TIPS FOR WORKING DIGITALLY
1.) There are paper-textured pen nibs and screen protectors you can buy to give your tablet that more familiar textured feeling while drawing. I used the paper pen nibs for awhile before I got used to drawing digitally.

2.) Check your brush settings to see if it has some sort of jitter turned up that may be causing jaggedness.

3.) Saving as a jpeg causes some quality loss to images in general. I prefer to save as a png. The trade off is that the file size is much bigger with pngs.