Can I convert my epic fantasy webnovel into a COG game?

Hey all!
I have over a thousand pages written on a free-to-read website, so I was wondering if there would be any legal issues in converting my webnovel into a hosted game while retaining the normal novel on the free website for regular reading.

It one hundred percent belongs to me, but I would like to know if this would be allowed. Would it?

2 Likes

First, I’m not a member of the company. And I’m not a lawyer. So while I’m pretty sure of the answer I’m about to give, you should take it with a grain of salt.

I think that would be fine, for two main reasons. Firstly, you own the copyright. You should be able to do whatever you like with it. But let’s assume that isn’t enough. COG and HG doesn’t want a carbon copy of something on their platform, even if you own it. Well, they deal with interactive fiction. It sounds like your book is a traditional novel, so you would be creating an adaptation in IF form. This is something that’s been done on the platform before, look at “ The Courting of Miss Bennet.” It’s a very accurate IF adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. So I’d say go for it

6 Likes

I see, thank you very much! I was kinda worried about running into any problems, so I’m glad someone got back to me on it. Your answer is good enough for me seeing someone else already did it.

1 Like

You may want to email choice of games directly for questions about rights, etc. But from what I understand (as not at all a lawyer or representative of the company and only a casual participant in the community), a CoG game is so different from a static novel that there is no issue, and CoG/Hosted Games hold rights in so far as you use ChoiceScript, which is their language.