Blood and Mist (WIP, Demo Posted)

It’s like study abroad, only with more blood-drained corpses.

Blood and Mist is my first attempt at writing a game using ChoiceScript. In it you play a college sophomore on a study abroad trip to Romania. Ostensibly the goal is to reach some hereto unstudied Saxon ruins in the region, but a number of things don’t add up. Including that most of the students (including possibly yourself) are not anthropology majors. You get the feeling that the bears and lynxes endemic to the region are the least of your worries. Can you survive? Will you even want to?

Currently, it’s about 33% finished at around 10,000 words. The plan is to update at least 5,000 words a week.

To play the demo, go here: https://dashingdon.com/go/1469

As this is my first attempt at a project like this, I’m all ears for feedback, especially with pacing. Also, the story is meant to have a gothic-horror vibe. I’m looking to creep you out, not disgust you.

Length wise, my goal is around 30,000 words. I’m aiming at the short end so I can use this as learning experience for a longer project, but still finish a complete game.

UPDATE 5/26/17: I posted a new version of the demo (same link) that should correct most of the typos.

23 Likes

I really like this so far. I look forward to seeing where the story goes. I did encounter a problem though.

When I chose to swear, it kept looping back to when the cowboy announces his discovery. Good work so far though! :grinning:

@Dark_Lord_Vul Just uploaded a fix, thanks for finding it. And I’m glad you like it :smiley:

It seems pretty good especially as seeing that this is your first project.
I didn’t see Tarrel’s relationship stat although we have the relationship stats of the rest of the members. Is that intentional or is that due to a bug?

Well it would be “stands” seeing that it is third person singular and maybe “stands as a silent sentinel” would be a more proper sentence.