What did you do before you start your coding

Hello there !
First, I would like to thank everybody out there for doing such an amazing job with your stories and your enthusiasm. You have brought great joy to my boring life, and in the process, help me figure out ‘stuffs’.

Now, to the topic. I have decided to become a writer here for quite sometime. And that’s way before I have any story idea. But now that I have one, I realized that I’m new to everything! So I would like to have some of your advices and opinions. For the coding part, I think everything was covered thank to everybody here so I would very much like some of writing advice.

• When you have an idea, do you write it out and build a strong plot or you just sort of let it be and see where it goes ?
  • How much you let the choice affects your plot line ?
  • With this IF style, the reader/player can make the choices that will affect the plot line, how do you cope with it ? You write down different routes before coding or…?

I think that should be it ? Everything is still pretty much a blur so sorry if some of the questions aren’t clear enough.

Oh and, since English isn’t my native language, I can use some help with the grammar things… because I suck at it xD nobody really teaches me or anything.

Anyway, THANK YOU!

3 Likes

Well then, let me congratulate you for reaching an important milestone to begin writing (coding) :tada:

Alright, let’s get into the nitty-gritty part.

This part is where every writers having a different opinion. But the point is: neither is better than the other. (IMO)
At first, I personally go “let it be”. I let the story tell themselves. And it somehow feels “forgiving” if you choose this path as you won’t feel much “burdened” when you’re writing your story.