Vampire Life: A High School Vampire Story

This is my first attempt at a story, so I’ll be learning choicescript as I go. However, I have a background in computer programming, so I’m picking it up fast.

The vampire genre seems somewhat played out, but maybe there will still be a demand for this story if it’s ever ready to publish.

Because (in this universe) vampires are weak during the day (but can still function somewhat), the main character, who’d been a jock, learns what it’s like to be the weakling he used to pick on and must reconstruct his entire social life while at the same time facing the trials and tribulations of being a fledgling vampire.

I named it “Vampire Life” because it’s possible this might be the first story in a series, with the state of the world and the character transferred between games, giving a sense of continuity, maybe even light RPG elements. If I do this, I plan to allow the main character be be more customizable, but for now, there are only three choices, all boys on the high school football team.

My goal is to write medium length pages, neither too long nor too short, will plenty of realistic, meaningful choices with each one significantly impacting the outcome of the story, emphasizing both personal attributes and relationships.

I generate a password in a few spots, and the stats screen has the restore_game dialogue. Hopefully this won’t be too distracting, but I got tired of starting over from the beginning each time I wanted to test it.

One question: When I have a stat set to 100, if I do fair-math on it, I get the following error: “Can’t fairAdd to non-percentile value: 100”. For now, I’ve set these stats to 99, but shouldn’t 100 work?

I welcome all feedback and constructive criticism.

http://herbaloutfitters.com/choiceof/web/vamp/

63 Likes