Use of persistent menus

Hi people,

CoG noob here. I apologise if this question has already been answered but I can’t find it.

What is the policy and/or thoughts on persistent menus?

By which I mean:

1. you make a menu choice
  2. one or more things happen
  3. those things conclude
  4. you return to the original set of choices (with or without your first choice depending on circumstances)
  5. you make another choice etc

Eventually, you exhaust all the options on this menu and fall through to the next item on your *scene_list.

The various examples I have looked at don’t do it this way - essentially traffic is all one way.

I’d appreciate your thoughts on:

• are there developers doing it this way and I’ve just missed it
  • if not, is this seen as ‘acceptable’ or does it simply not fit with CoG and I should look at going elsewhere

It is fairly easy to implement in ChoiceScript so the technical side of it isn’t an issue.

1 Like

Are you talking about loops? I extensively use them in my stories, sometimes you just can’t do differently:

• You’re chatting with a character, you can ask them three question, and you can choose them from a list;
  • You’re buying something from a store, you have a certain amount of money and you want to pick more than an item;
  • Etc.

If that’s what you’re looking for, then I think it’s commonly used.

That’s essentially what I’m talking about.

I’m designing the story as a series of ‘nodes’, each of which has several options available.

There are about half-a-dozen major nodes (corresponding to the *scene_list). These nodes may lead to other nodes in a sort of spoke-and-wheel manner.

I can also use this method to return to a previous major node (using *goto_scene), unlike (if I understand correctly) the standard *scene_list fall through approach.

So it sounds like I would be using looping more extensively than is common but if the principle is there then I’ll keep going with it.

Thanks