Ultimate Noob Coding

I struggle to thing of someone more noobish than myself when it comes to coding anything. So I figured one thread may be best to contain all my inane queries.

First up: I decided to try and code the first little intro chapter I have, but I literally have gotten stuck on the first line. I’ve never used Notepad++ before, and the line I’m typing seems to go on forever. Should I hit return to jump to the next, and if so, how often?

23 Likes

For a non-command line, it won’t make any difference, so just hit return whenever you want to.

4 Likes

Thanks muchly! Might as well do it as early and often as voting, just to make it easier on the eyeballs.

1 Like

It may help if you have Word Wrap checked.
View --> Word Wrap

9 Likes

Done and done! 20 characters in search of a point.

Also, have you tried CSIDE or Chronicler instead of a text editor / browser? Both are dedicated development tools for ChoiceScript. Check out this forum thread for CSIDE, and this one for Chronicler.

8 Likes

I have seen CSIDE mentioned in other threads (though not Chronicler), but I apparently misunderstood what it was. I thought it was just to test your code, not a repository to create the whole kit and caboodle.

3 Likes

Yep when I started I used a word processor too. But @Vendetta is right, you save a ton of time using CSIDE and Chronicler. Both have great features since they’re dedicated platforms and it’s really a great time saver!

6 Likes

Okay, been working on my intro scene and keep getting “it is illegal to fall out of a *choice statement, you must *goto or *finish before the end of the indented block”. I am using CSIDE (which it took me longer than I want to admit to get the name’s pun), and it looks like the *finish is centered right below the text like in the ChoiceScript example online. But honestly this Smart Indent is either screwing me up or I’m just not sure which way things should be. Should I turn it off?

1 Like