The Detective and The Mantis (New WIP)

Hey everyone, I’ve got a brand new COG for you all.

It’s called The Detective and the Mantis (working title)

About The Game:

You play as a detective sent to investigate The Mantis, a space freighter that went dark while orbiting an abandoned planet. What you’ll discover inside will throw you and your crew into a conspiracy that will threaten all your lives. Will you choose to trust your crew, or confide in your superior officer? Will your detective skills be enough to unravel the mystery of The Mantis? That might not matter if you can’t claw your way out of the dark hallways of the ship first.

I have the first four chapters done, and I’m excited to share them with you. I’ve been writing for several years, and am hoping to get this one published through Hosted Games.

About me:
I have published two other books previously, and my horror writing on /r/nosleep has been upvoted tens of thousands of times.

Link to play the first four chapters:
https://dashingdon.com/play/jamesworchester/the-detective-and-the-mantis/mygame/

74 Likes

Those upvotes you mentioned from /r/nosleep are entirely justified. From just reading the first few paragraphs alone, it paints you as an experienced writer.

6 Likes

I appreciate the compliment; hopefully the other users here agree with you!

3 Likes

So far, this is really well-written! Your writing is very to-the-point, but it’s also engaging! I love the characters as well. Their personalities are distinct, and I like that you can’t make them all like you just by being nice. I’m looking forward to the next chapters!

4 Likes

Just how much insperation did you get from Mass Effect? Quarians and C-Sec, really?

Feedback: more middle ground responses in conversations would be nice.

Honestly though, this seams like it had a lot of potential, could you just maybe change the description of the warp gates so it doesn’t sound like you are describing this:

4 Likes

Dartknight,