Publishing process

Say I’m a writer with a complete game, and I want it to be a Hosted Game. So what happens next, assuming COG goes ahead and decides to publish it? Is there an editing/negotiations process? What happens during that time? How long will it take?

You will have to furnish the artwork, screenshots and descriptions. Then there is the contract and Certificate of Residency (for non - US citizens). I think the word limit of your story decides the price. Hope I am helpful.

1 Like

Contact choice of games (details are on their submission page).

Make sure you game passes Quicktest and Randomtest. Send CoG the files, and they will approve the game or not. They do no editing (to my recollection), and they pay 25% of collected revenue.

They’ll send guidelines for artwork, which you need to supply.

The waiting time is 3-6 months from submission to publication (generally, I haven’t published a new app in a while).

1 Like

Hi I have some questions regarding publishing on my own, so instead of starting another topic, I thought it’s best I just ask here:

1.) Will I get a reply if my work is rejected ? So I don’t end up hoping and waiting forever

2.) Do I get to choose my own screen shots, game description etc for the app page ?

3.) I noticed some hosted games are charging $2.99 or $1.99 right out of the box in the app store, do I have the option to set it up where the first chapter is free, and charge 99 cents to the rest of the chapters ? similar to Zombie Exodus? Instead of out right charging a fee to the reader?

4.) Do I have a choice on where to insert save points and where to charge chapter fees in my game?

Thanks

1.) I’m sure you would know as soon as they decided not to publish it (though this is very unlikely; I’m pretty sure they’ve accepted all titles submitted under the HG label.)

2.) Yes, you make all of that yourself.