Path of a Prophet [WIP w/ brief demo]

This is a thread for a ChoiceScript project that I’ve been working on in the last few days called Path of a Prophet. You will get to play as the prophet(ess) of a previously unknown god in a low-fantasy universe and navigate social and political challenges to spread your new faith throughout the world.

First, a little bit about myself: I’m a 20-year-old college student studying computer science and economics. I’ve enjoyed playing games from CoG and Hosted Games for at least a few years now–my favorites have been Life of a Wizard, the Lost Heir series, and Choice of Robots. My writing experience, besides my two semi-successful attempts at NaNoWriMo in high school, mostly consists of contributions to the SCP Foundation wiki. I have about ten or so articles under the same username that I have here, Univine.

Setting

The setting is a low-fantasy universe called Solgea. Humans are the only (physical) intelligent race in Solgea. Magic can only be accomplished either by collecting energy from the prayers of devoted believers, or with the aid of immaterial beings called spirits, which can affect the world on your behalf.

Solgea is dominated by a monolithic empire called Marantium or the Marantine Empire. Hundreds of years ago, the Marantines had the aid of an especially powerful spirit called Maranata, who they worship as a god. With Maranata’s help, the Marantines have conquered the entirety of the civilized world, including your home province of Sormendia on the eastern coast of Solgea’s supercontinent. The Marantine conquests have brought considerable bloodshed and subjugated dozens of cultures, but it could be worse… at least the Marantines are big fans of gender equality. At the moment, Marantium is in a state of decline: Maranata has stopped aiding the empire a long time ago, the provinces are on the verge of rebellion, and the current Empress, the young Filimara IX, is basically powerless next to her regents’ influence.

Plot