New Writer Looking for Ideas

Hi. I’m a new writer, and I’m looking for ideas for a choice-script game which I’d eventually like to be published by Hosted Games.

Though I don’t know much about what I want for a plot; there are two perks which I want to pay special attention to in my game: customization and world-building. It’s the little things that make the game.

I’d like your opinion on two things at the moment. What things to include in customisation, and what kind of story to write. I’m very open-minded. Feel free to suggest anything you’d like to on these subjects.

If I choose your story idea, or your customization idea, which is unique enough; I’ll credit you for the idea in a “credits” choice at the beginning and end of the game.

To make sure nobody steals your idea, please contact me via email. cultureunitedstates AT gmail DOT com.

Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

Counter intuitive logic time.

DON’T listen to what other people want for a story. Rather, just write what feels right to you and works for you.

A lot of people say that you should emulate successful writers like you do successful people. This is misguided. First, that story already exists, so why make it again? Second, the people are successful at that story have a lot more experience than you do at it.

If you just copy what other people do or listen to too many ideas on what you should be doing, you don’t develop your own style. Just write what feels right to you and let it come naturally. Otherwise you end up doing a second rate version of something that already exists, when if you just let things develop naturally(Not an overnight process, by any means) you could have had a first rate version of something of your own design.

11 Likes

You make a fair point. In fact, since I’ve posted this, I’ve already come up with a few ideas. Thanks for the insight!

1 Like