Need help getting started

Hello, I have a question I would appreciate answers on.

I am new to coding and at the moment, I am reading everything I can get my hands on to do with CoG scripting and I think I have a solid grasp of what’s needed and what’s possible with the current coding. My plan at this point is to create a short game or two as a training exercise to familiarise myself with the code and gain some experience for the real game I want to make.

Since I’ve never done this before, I am having problems thinking of ways to convert a simple plot with multiple resolutions (I am a planner so I have already laid the framework down.) into an actual game. How do you do this if you have your story prepared and need to make it into a game? What’s your thought process towards getting started?

I admit I feel a little intimidated but I am also excited to crack on as well.

Well, I begin by writing. I’m serious. However, I don’t start writing in a txt document. What I do is to put my scenes in a mindmap so that it helps me visualise how it would flow. For that, I (and at least one other writer here, Andymwhy) use bubbl.us

The good thing about it being on the computer is that I can code while writing, and once I’m done, all I need to do is to copy and paste on a txt document.

Hmm well i plan out the story in the sense of what things are possible then i dived that into chapters then i begin with the start up chapter (or chapter 0 if you will) which is character setup. after that i just write the story as i code.

ScarletGeisha - Oh wow! That website is incredible for something so simple. Thanks! I can see myself using it often.

appleduck28 - By the things that are possible, do you mean choices and such to choose and events as well?

I am making some good progress on the prologue but I have encountered a story problem.