Getting Started-Questions

Hello, I’m new to ChoiceScript Games, but I am really trying to make a game and publish it. I’ve always really loved these choice-based games, my mind is filled with ideas, and the code on the site seems fairly straightforward to understand and work with. However, I was wondering where exactly to begin? Should I write the story and the choices and everything else I want to be in my game before working with the coding aspect? Plus, if I do ever finish a complete game, what are the chances that it will actually get accepted and published here? Even if it would never get published I would still make it, but it would be nice to have a real hope of making a successful game as a motivator as I work on it.

Welcome I would start with these three links

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7840892/CJW/choicescript/tools/IDE/main.html

*edit The short answer is if you write it they will work with you to get it published. :smile:

4 Likes

Much better to write it in code from the beginning. Codeless stories are a pain to convert, and the story will usually flow better if you wrote it in the format it’ll eventually be read in.

And yes, if you finish it and it’s not too offensive for Apple, they’ll publish it. (And unless you want to write something an order of magnitude more sexual or two orders of magnitude more violent than anything currently on the CoG site, I’d not worry about it being too offensive).

5 Likes

Just to expand upon @Havenstone 's post and to share my experience (I am writing my first project as well): One of the advantages of coding at the same time you are writing, is that you can run a “test” of your story-game and see how things like: page breaks, paragraphs and dialogue line-up.

What may seem o.k. while writing might be too long for browsers or phones to easily read - things like this are easier to correct early than later.

4 Likes