Method for game design/writing and how long does it take?

Hi everyone :slight_smile:

I am fairly new to the CS community and have been dabbling with some coding here and there. I have a few questions for people with a bit of experience:

1. How do you go about writing your games?
    Do you write and code at the same time? Do you plan out your pathways or allow them manifest organically as youā€™re writing? How drastically does your approach differ than if you were writing an ordinary story?

2. How long does it take you to finish writing?
    I have tried my hand at writing a scene and found that, although it is several thousand lines of code, the scene itself is actually quite short. Is this something that improves with practice?

3. How do you split your focus between the length of your story and the number of possible outcomes?
    Which do you feel is more important?

Any and all input is greatly appreciated.

I have been writing fiction my entire life and have been coding in various languages since I was a teenager, so this feels like a good fit for me either way.

Peace and love.

4 Likes

How long depends on how much time you devote to it, and how long you want it to be. If you are shooting for 100,000 words or more, it would be quite surprising if you finished it this year. Not unprecedented, but definitely unusual. Plenty of people never finish at all, of course, so even if youā€™re slow itā€™s better than caving entirely. I would anticipate many hundreds of your hours on the project no matter what.

1 Like
  1. I spend a lot of time just getting immersed in the overall mood and visuals. If Iā€™m thinking of a potentially dystopian scenario, I usually start getting myself into the right mental atmosphere for writing by exposing myself to concept art just to get a good grip on the feel of the story. I usually code on the fly but I also keep that big picture of the plot at the backseat of my head.