Live a Life, Save a Soul (Work In Progress)

I’ve been a writer for over a decade at this point and my life and there’s two things I love in this world – writing and gaming. As such, the logical conclusion was to try my hand at making a game around writing and, of course, here I am.

My game is, as the title says above, called Life a Life, Save a Soul. It was originally something I’d started out in RPG Maker and, thanks to a terrible glitch that caused me to lose months of progress, instead brought me here.

You start out as a soul destined for either greatness or monotony. That choice will fully be up to you. You can choose to be either male or female and go through life in a medieval setting. You’ll choose looks, favorite colors, who you interact with, how you fight, how you conquer various problems, and a whole lot more. There’s a morality system and even a personality system based around the popular Big 5 traits which will lock you out from (or reveal) choices in the future that your character, based on the personality and choices you’ve chosen. You’re not making a story so much as you are making a real character that has the same limitations as the rest of us.

To make things even more in depth and INCREDIBLY DIFFICULT TO CREATE – I made, by scratch, a working battle simulator. This includes the ability to use skills in battle, track health and damage dealt, have actual status effects which work, use items you’ve collected, have a small degree of randomness to it and enemy attacks/skills, and more. I’m not kidding, this thing was a real pain in the butt to make work but I did it and am incredibly proud of it.

If you’re interested in checking out the entire first Act, probably around an hour or so of content (more if you play around with it), you can find the link here –https://dashingdon.com/go/3458