I'm new to choicescript. I did read the tutorial, but am still frustrated

Hello,

I’m sorry if this kind of discussion has been started already. However, I’m a newb, so please be kind.

I have no computer programming experience. I’m an aspiring writer who was turned to choicescript as an idea to get myself writing more, and in a creative way.

Cut to the chase-- I downloaded choicescript. I’ve read the tutorial and the help files many, many times. My head hurts from trying to understand.

Without explaining in irritating newbie fashion what I’m not getting, I was wondering if there is a kind soul that wouldn’t mind communicating with me and at least walking me through this beginning stage.

I very much want to learn how to do this. I was excited to learn about choicescript, but while I did feel daunted I became determined to learn. However, I feel the tutorial is…er, a little lacking for someone like myself with absolutely no programming experience.

So if anyone can please help, I’d be ever so grateful!
Thank you.
Natalie

First of all, Welcome to Choice Of Games! :smiley:
I’d be happy to PM you once I get on my computer because unfortuately, phone keyboards aren’t my thing, but i’ll try to explain the basics to you.
-Daisuke

Hi Natalie, you might also see if Reaperoa’s ChoiceScript Guide is helpful:
http://cogcommunity.webs.com/ChoiceScriptGuide/index.html

It’s incredibly hard to teach someone programming theory AND teach them how to use a particular framework (in this case, choice-script) at the same time, granted.

But you’re not alone, so please, do not feel dumb or defeated, or anything like that, we’ve all been there at some point, just give it time!

If you need any help at all, I’ll be more than happy to give it you, whether it’s specific choice-script questions or from-the-ground-up programming/scripting, as long as you’re willing to learn, we can get you through this in no time.

If you like the sound of that, I have but one question of my own: