Home Sweet (WIP, Demo)

Hello, this is my first time posting on here and I don’t know if this is right spot or if everything in this post will work so let me know if you encounter any problems!

Bio:
In Sweet Home you play as a recent college graduate returning to your hometown to celebrate your recent engagement. But something seems…off. Your ex-best friend is spouting conspiracy theories, your mostly absent father has turned over a new leaf, you’ve been having strange dreams every time you close your eyes and a string of disappearances have lured a detective to your sleepy town. Will you help unravel this mystery? Or is it in your best interest to hide the truth in knots?

Features:
Customizable MC (Play as male, female or nonbinary)

Four RO’s all of whom are romanceable by any gender

Surrealistic dreams

Shenanigans

Mother issues

A large mystery to unravel with smaller mysteries along the way

Dashingdon Link: Click here
Tumblr: sweethomegame

208 Likes

Hi! I actually found your game on Tumblr a while ago, and I’ve been looking forwards to it. I really enjoy most of it, but I do have a couple of suggestions. I normally don’t sandwich, but if you need me to I can.

A few things on your code.
  • So, I have this bad habit of peaking into people’s codes after my first play-through, and I’m not sure if you know this or not, but instead of using *line_break twice, you could just add an extra blank line between lines of text for a new paragraph. Along those lines, you don’t need to have so many labels and gotos, most of those choices could’ve been made into fake choices and you can just put the text in the body of the choice itself.
*choice
 #A calm blue
  *goto eye1
  *set Eyes “Blue”

#A gentle brown
  *goto eye2
  *set Eyes “Brown”

*label eye1
*set Eyes "Blue"
There are certainly no shortage of poetic comparisons to the sky and ocean you could make. 
*line_break
*line_break