Help with Character Customization? =)

Hi, guys!! So, I am a Writer, not so much as a Coder… but I want to learn!! Think ya can help out?? xD

Ok. So, I figured how to *setgenders, but I’d love for my readers to be able to create their own character customization…

For instance… Letting the readers be able to choose their own skin tone or hair color. How do I make the script remember that and show up on stat screen?? o__0

Thanks in advance!! :slight_smile:

1 Like

For stuff like skin tone and hair color, you’ll need to *create individual variables for each stuff.

Meaning

*create skintone ""
*create haircolor ""
etc.

Later on, in character generation page, just put a *choice that asks the player, “what is your preferred skin?”

2 Likes

Examples that might help just a little(Pulled from my currently demoless WIP, Rokusuppo)
In game:
“Who gives a shit? Your girl problems won’t matter when I mess you up.”
*choice
# “It wouldn’t be “girl” problems anyway.”
(Words. Yet to be established.)
*set Orientation “Guys”

Some of the stat chart page.
*label Firstpage

*stat_chart
text Name
text Gender
text Orientation
text School
text Style

Startup would be a little like this.
*create Name “Punk”
*create Gender “?”
*create Orientation “Whatever”
*create School “?”
*create Style “Winning”

You can put whatever you want in the " " part, but there does need to be something to fill it for a text variable.

Edit: Yes. Yes it actually says this.

1 Like

Hmm… Okay, thanks guys I will try this!! However… So, if I do something like *create haircolor “?” in variables

On stats screen, it will show up as question mark until the reader chooses what color they want?
Do I also do something like *set haircolor “DarkBrown” after the choice is selected?

1 Like

Pretty much yes. It will read as “?” until the player makes an input/choice that changes it with *set haircolor “Dark Brown”

You could do a small test to see if it’s working that way as intended first,

1 Like