Having trouble with condition coding

i’m new to choice script and there is a problem i’m having right now and it doesn’t look like i will be be able to solve it on my own, so i decided to ask help here.

the coding looks like this:

“excuse me sir would please be so kind to spare a coin to a poor old dwarve?”

*if race = “Demon”
"Excuse me sir would ple-… the dwarve stopped his words his words and had his eyes fixated on me for a moment before his face turned into one of complete fear and terror.

what is the problem? well, only the bottom text is supposed to show in case you are using the specific “Demon” race but it is showing the top text as well which is supposed to be shown only for races beside “Demon”. but nothing i do works to fix this problem.

Hey there, I’m not sure if I understand your question, but everything below *if is what should show if “Demon” is your race. Try indenting it like this?

*if race = "Demon"
  "Excuse me sir would ple-… the dwarve stopped his words his words and had his eyes fixated on me for a moment before his face turned into one of complete fear and terror.

And if you keep having trouble, you can run quickest and see what errors come up. It’s easier to fix issues that way.

1 Like

You need to add a condition to prevent the first text from showing up if the second one is triggered. I think what you want is something like:

*if race = “Demon”

*else

So it will first check to see if the player is a Demon and show the Demon specific text if so, and if not it will show the other text instead.

3 Likes

it looks like this in game:

and that first part is not supposed to show up
i tried identing it like you said but it din’t work

You can keep Identation by using these ```. It would look like this:

*if race = "Demon"

*else

@daniel_santos Does this work?

2 Likes

Ah, thanks. I guess I don’t have all the formatting tricks here figured out yet.

2 Likes