Goto_scene - what am I doing wrong?

I am brand new at this, so I assume it’s me, but I cannot get a goto_scene command to work. Here it is:

goto_scene jackie

my *scene_list in startup lists the jackie scene, and jackie.txt exists in my scene folder, all cases match up. Note also that I have the same goto_scene command in my startup, and it works fine. It,however, is tied into a choice, whereas the troublemaker is not - it is alone at the end of another scene.

I assume I’m making a dumb mistake, and would be grateful if somebody could point it out or suggest things I might be doing worng.

Thanks!

I’m going to say the obvious: do you have the command as goto_scene jackie or *goto_scene jackie?

Geez - I wasn’t even clear on my question - sorry. In fact, I used *goto_scene jackie.

I almost wish I hadn’t - woulda been dumb, but a quick fix.

Thank you!

In what way does the command not work? Does it throw an error, or does it just bypass the *goto_scene?

Showing us some of the code leading to the *goto_scene might help give a clue, as well.

The scene with the command ends with *ending menu, as if the scene was the last of the story. It’s like it doesn’t see the *goto_scene command at all. For the record, there are currently two scenes listed in *scene_list after this scene. Also, I just realized jackie is the last scene in *scene_list …maybe that’s an issue?

Here are the lines leading up to the command…everything above what is shown here is just text. Note that I did use quotation marks (it’s a conversation) - is that a problem? Maybe my stats *sets are wrong somehow?

I smiled through the pain as I waited for the morphine to kick. “You are a creature of habit.”

As the morphine began to dull me, I ruminated over that, wondering if we had gotten married and stayed together all these years simply because we admired each other’s kissing prowess. That made me sad.

*set Kindness +5
*set Integrity +5

*goto_scene jackie

==================