General Design Questions

Hi guys,

Choicescript noob here, so apologies if these questions have been asked / answered before. I’ve been lurking for a few days now but have not spotted anything on these particular subjects.

Complexity - CoG seem certain that “anyone” can use the script to design a game, but in all seriousness how realistic is this assertion? I’ve seen coding queries posted here that make my (non-programmer’s) head reel, concerning “variables” and suchlike - and if that’s not a prgramming term, I don’t know what is! Honest opinion from experienced non-programmers would be very greatly appreciated.

Profanity / Excessive Cruelty & Violence - Acceptable or not? Reason I ask, the design I have in mind would be set in the criminal underworld, with Part 1 starting at the beginning of Prohibition. Part 2 (if I actually manage Part 1…) would start in the 1930s with the end of Prohibition but the rise of La Cosa Nostra (the Mafia), so your character would essentially pick up Part 2 from where you left off in Part 1, and so forth… Naturally, we’re talking a strictly adult theme here, but to be even vaguely realistic and believable, the narrative cannot pull any punches. These were not nice guys, and you would not play the part of a particularly nice guy. So my question is, would this even be published, or would I just be wasting my time?

I have probably a dozen or so more queries but the answers to those two would likely determine whether or not I need waste any more of your time… :slight_smile:

Many thanks.

Complexity - A few others and myself started on our projects with no programming knowledge and we’ve managed to do pretty well. It’s not going to be a breeze and you will need to read the tutorial on the main site, and you are going to have to do some trial and error before you get it, but the only way ChoiceScript can get any easier is if it were a software of visuals and buttons.