"Flight: An Alchemical Adventure" now on itch (NOT a Hosted Game candidate any more)

I’ve been working on “Flight: An Alchemical Adventure” since 2019 and it’s finally finished but the main character is a teensy bit psychotically murderous pre-game so it wasn’t appropriate for Hosted Games. I also intended it for the IF Comp (but accidentally disqualified myself there too, lol) so I deliberately wrote it in a different style to the usual ChoiceScript game.

It’s actually NOT very violent at all… the problem is that the murderin’ happens before the story starts, which means the player doesn’t get to choose NOT to be a murderer.

If you like magic, adventure, steampunk/clockpunk, alternate history, a deliciously arrogant and optionally evil protagonist, and travelling* the known world of the 1700s, you’ll like this.

You can see it all and buy it for $4 here.

Blurbity blurb:

Some call me evil. Like the engineers of Babel; like Hypatia and Galileo; like the Montgolfier brothers. What is life for, if not to fly?

Hello there, Dear Reader. Were you expecting something a little more ordinary? Something that followed the rules of How To Play A ChoiceScript Game? Fah! I despise the ordinary. But if you like adventure, history, and a heaping serve of late-1700s alchemical SCIENCE—with perhaps a whirlwind romance for those who like that sort of thing—then read on.

I should perhaps warn you that the tale begins with my genius self in a dungeon, and my life forfeit. We shall need to either turn over a new leaf and prove ourselves redeemed, or become so powerful that no one will ever dare to speak out against us again.

If you’ve ever wished a game was more like a penny dreadful novel, read on.

FLIGHT is a clockpunk fantasy interactive novel by award-winning author Felicity Banks.

• Play male, female, genderfluid, or nonbinary; gay, straight, or asexual.
  • Discover new magically activated metals, and use their powers.