Finding a writer ? Where ? How much?

Hello !

Thank you for paying attention to my first post on this forum, I will introduce myself quickly first.
I come from a computer science background (programming / research - ending my 4th year PhD), I have never worked in a company, always at the university (in research). I do not have any knowledge working in the video game and I have been watching for a few months self-taught a lot of things around the creation of a project, to try to produce a game in the interval of the next 9-12 months. I really love interactive fictions, from visual novels like danganronpa, phoenix wright to more text based stories like orwell, sorcery!, choice of games, some fighting fantasy games on smartphone…

My job at the university ends in 3 months and I will look for a co-writer to work with me on a project I had in my mind for a long time. A story based on the principle of “Groundhog Day” and discussing subjects such as young adult life and family abuse. Since march, in part time after my work, I worked around this game, who would be a visual novel. The employment of a writer seems to be essential, but I would like to have a minimum of control and to ensure a certain quality considering the importance of the dialogues in this kind of game.

Now the hard part, finding a writer in the coming months, with whom I have a good relationship and feels comfortable working with, and defining proper remuneration without putting all my savings for a small game (knowing I expect to pay a 2D artist on the side, and if I have a little money left, 1-2 musics). For the moment, I made the following steps:

• I registered on some forums of French writers (i am french), I started to read some novels (but really quickly)
  • I tried to look for rates and think about the model to get a freelance writer. I saw that the payment by word / line / page existed, even if I understood that in the course of a choice games, these kind of wage doesnt seem to be the best.