ChoiceScript a good option for a professional author?

I’m a professional author with sales well into the six figures. I’m interested in creating interactive works based on my novels and possibly some unique stuff. I’ve drafted the first arc of a storyline in ChoiceScript and it seems super intuitive, but I’m hesitant to go all in. It looks like the App stores take a large cut of the sales, and then I would have to commit another quarter of my royalties to Choice of Games, iirc. I have no clue how it’s going to sell, but I do know that my reader base is interested in this sort of thing. If I sell a thousand copies then losing 25% is nbd, but the thought of selling 10,000 and losing the app cut and another 25% makes me cringe. Are there any other professional writers that have gone this route and can recommend it, or are there better options if you’re assured of at least a modest amount of sales?

3 Likes

Not sure if you’ve seen this but it may be relevant to you.

2 Likes

You have the percentages wrong. You are going to earn 17.5 percent of gross sales. 30 percent goes off the top to the platforms and of the remaining 70%, CoG/HG takes 75 percent of that.

This is obviously much lower than the 70 percent you can earn as an indie author with Amazon if you price in their sweet spot. So you’ll have to make up the difference in sales volume. The good news is that is possible, as CoG has a pretty large and dedicated fanbase. It’s a niche market still, but it’s also a global one. Frankly, selling 1,000 copies would be a huge flop. It certainly wouldn’t be worth it for you (or CoG, if you published through them). If you sold 1,000 copies as a Hosted Games author, you’d likely net something like $700. (.175 times $3.99 sales price times 1,000 copies).